PDA

View Full Version : Do you use a bike bell?

emily_in_nc
09-08-2006, 04:27 PM
So, I've been thinking I could use a bike bell for riding the trails, since some of the ones we ride are multi-use trails, and although I am very unlikely to pass another mountain biker (since I'm a pokey newbie!!), I occasionally pass a jogger or walker. I found this cool one, and it also has a compass!

Ebay bike bell (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=013&item=230025991732&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1)

Anyone else use something like this? Do you like it? I figure at under $8 (including shipping!) it is certainly worth a try, even if the compass doesn't work all that well, it's still a bell. And it's blue!!! :D

Emily

Grog
09-08-2006, 05:27 PM
I have a bike bell on my pink city bike. It's a metal one so it really has a very traditional bike bell sound. I use it mostly for fun, because it makes me happy to hear it.

See its sister bells here:
http://www.dringdring.ca/catalogue%20sonnettes.html
(Mine is the one with the cat but I also love the pink candy, goes well with a cycling top from Shebeest 2 years ago)

emily_in_nc
09-08-2006, 06:12 PM
See its sister bells here:
http://www.dringdring.ca/catalogue%20sonnettes.html
(Mine is the one with the cat but I also love the pink candy, goes well with a cycling top from Shebeest 2 years ago)

Those are just darling!!! The "chien" (woof-woof) would look cute on my mountain bike, color wise, but I've already ordered the more "serious" compass bell. Actually "chien" would look fab on my Bike Friday too (it has blue bar tape in the same shade). Will it fit on road bars, do you know? And are these available in the US, by any chance? The site appears to be French-Canadian.

Thanks much!
Emily

Grog
09-08-2006, 09:02 PM