PDA

View Full Version : Goo, Powerbars, Powergel - HELP!?

ragbrai40
03-03-2004, 01:24 PM
Hey everyone - I'm a newbie and have been reading through all the posts and I'm not seeing anything (or I'm missing it) regarding power/energy bars, "goo?" and drink supplements. I'm a roadie and have been taking a spinning class 3 - 4x's a week and one of the classes is taught and primarily attended by people trianing for triathelons and some are using "goo" right before the beginning of the class. I don't see anyone in the other classes doing this and I'm wondering what the benefits are.

I'm still figuring out the eating/riding thing - I ride mostly 15 - 30+ miles and have bonked pretty hard a couple of times after not eating correctly before riding. (I hooked up with a couple other riders one day and didn't ask the route before leaving and ended up being a 40 mile ride on a bagel - not good!)

So in my round-about way - what experience and information does anyone have on these supplements? I've been experimenting with powerbars before spinning, but not sure if I'm eating them at the proper time and if they are the right kind.

Any info - I'd appreciate!

Irulan
03-03-2004, 02:09 PM
I'll bite ( oops, sorry!);-)

Sounds rather posuer-ish to me for a one hour spin class. There are a lot of so called hard core folks out there that would disagree with me. One of our spin instructors really pushes some sort of drink (that she sells, of course) that we should really be drinking. Me? I just eat a healty carb breakfast and leave it at that. I figure if i'm ready for more food after class is over, I've timed it just right.

as for gu etc. I do always take cliff bars and gu packets. I only use the gu typically in the last half of some sort of epic ride, when I don't need more food, just that extra bit of energy for the last 5 miles. I may take a recovery drink ( cytomax) but I dilute it becasue full strength make me want to puke.