PDA

View Full Version : Peanut Butter alternative

Veronica
08-31-2006, 05:50 PM
I just found out one of my students this year is allergic to peanut butter - one of my staple foods.

So I need to find something else to eat on my apples in the morning to satisfy the tapeworm.

Any suggestions on easy to carry on a bike foods, that I can eat in my classroom? They need to be healthy and filling. That's what I liked about apples and peanut butter. :(

V.

Kalidurga
08-31-2006, 06:24 PM
I haven't tried any of them so I can't make a specific recommendation, but there are a lot of different "butters" out there these days. Organic markets are your best bet, but even the regular grocery stores have things like almond butter, etc.

So I'm not the only wacky person out there who likes apples with peanut butter!

Veronica
08-31-2006, 06:30 PM
I wondered if you are allegeric to peanuts are you also allergic to almonds?

V.

Bikingmomof3
08-31-2006, 06:42 PM
I am not an expert, but from my experience when I taught and a student had a peanut allergy, it usually included all nuts. :(

I love peanut butter and apples. What about somethinng like a Lara bar?

Veronica
08-31-2006, 06:47 PM
I can't do Lara bars anymore. One made Thom REALLY ill. Having lived through that... no. :D

I was thinking about cheese. It will have to sit in my room unrefrigerated for a couple of hours, but I should think a hard cheese would be okay.

Maybe some kind of sandwich.

V.

Kalidurga
08-31-2006, 06:48 PM
Fig Newtons...?

Veronica
08-31-2006, 06:48 PM
Really funny Jennifer - I have your tagline on the front door to my class and mine on the back door. :)

V.

Veronica
08-31-2006, 06:50 PM
Fig Newtons...?

Good idea! Maybe the non fig ones. I've never been a big fig fan. But the apple ones might be good.

Did I mention I'm kind of a picky eater? :D

But please keep throwing ideas out. I don't want to kill the kid and I will be awfully grumpy if I don't eat.

V.

Bikingmomof3
08-31-2006, 06:52 PM