PDA

View Full Version : heart monitor recommendations?

victoria
02-27-2004, 08:35 AM
hello!
i'm new to road biking and really excited and thrilled to have found this wonderful group. i'm thinking of investing in a hrm to get more out of my workouts. i run too. any suggestions? thanks.

Veronica
02-27-2004, 09:55 AM
I really like the Polar S710. It gives you speed,distance, max speed, avg. speed, altitude, temperature, calories burned in addition to heart rate. The stored info can then be downloaded to your computer via an Infrared reader. The computer adds up your mileage, calories, number of exercises and time on a weekly basis.

I wear it for every workout I do, weights, spin, Spinervals tapes, swimming, the occassional step class. The lap counter has a large button that's very handy when swimming for interval work.

Veronica

victoria
02-27-2004, 06:33 PM
thanks, the s710 sounds like a contender. i've heard these have to be sent back to the factory to have the batteries replaced, is that true and how big of a pain in the butt is it?

Veronica
02-27-2004, 07:05 PM
I've had mine for over two years and haven't had to send it in yet.

Veronica

Irulan
02-27-2004, 07:15 PM
either factory, or a GOOD watch repair shop.. not the ones at Kmart or similar. My good pal just had her wristwatch portion of her HRM destroyed ( "oops") as Shopko. I had my same done by the local professional watch shop and it was fine.

They say send them back because a lot of place don't really know what they are doing - department stores and so on. AFter having things messed up by Kmart and Pennys' both, I only go with a real watch shop now.

Irulan

victoria
02-29-2004, 06:53 AM
thank you Veronica and Irulan.
my biggest concern with the polar was not having it while the batteries were being replaced, and the cost...it's a little spendy, but sounds like the battery thing isn't really a big deal and i'm sure i can come up with justification for the $$$$. thanks for your help.
victoria