PDA

View Full Version : Experienced runners, I need your advice.

limewave
08-28-2006, 04:40 AM
I've been training for my first Marathon, I plan to run the Chicago in October. This is my first real endurance event--longer than 2.5 hours. I'm fairly new to running so this is all new to me.

I'm six weeks into my training and I have eight weeks left. I've done one 18 miler, a fifteen and several 13s. I've noticed the last two weeks that my knees feel weak. I have a hard time squatting to pick up my baby. My legs are just tired. The last few long runs I've taken ice baths and have even iced my knees later in the day. It helps keep them from getting sore, but they are still weak.

I'm wondering, at this point, should I take a week off from my training to let my legs recover . . . or is the weak-knees part of the training process and I should just push through it???? I'm hesitant to take time off as I don't want to get behind in my training, but I don't want to burn my legs out either. Any advice?

jenxxs
08-28-2006, 04:53 AM
Hi, my advice is to listen to your body, and do not worry about adjusting your marathon training program to get more rest. The first time I tried to train for a marathon, I adopted a standard beginner's program, and it was too much mileage for me - ended up with a minor stress fracture and had to drop out of the program. The next time, I designed my own program with much lower mileage overall, and incorporating a lot of pool running. It worked out perfectly for me, and I finished the race with pretty fresh legs.

Keep in mind that the more tired your legs are, the worse your running mechanics are going to be, and the more prone you are to injury.