PDA

View Full Version : the first of MANY questions!

gretchen
02-04-2004, 11:54 AM
Ok, now that i've figured out this posting thing...here come the questions:
first one:
As i mentioned before...I'm REALLY new at this...training for a 700 mile ride (2 weeks) down the west coast (by heading south...doesn't that mean that it's all "DOWN" hill!!!!!!!! )...anyway, i have a training program with a trainer at our health club. Just finishing the first 6 weeks. It's 6 days a week, cross training, and i'm actually loving it. I love personal challanges! The next 6 weeks will be something new, etc until the ride at the end of July. If anyone has ANY advice to give me on training, form, equipment, (I have a Specialized, Allez), nutrition, etc, etc...i'm open to it! Craving it in fact! I love my bike and am soooo excited that i made this commitment!
Bring on the Advice!!!!!

pedalfaster
02-05-2004, 04:09 AM
I might be missing a few things here, but my immediate thought is "wanna be a better bike rider? ride your bike".

Don't get me wrong, I am a huge fan of x-training and think it's generally an excellent idea in the off-season.

However, as a new cyclist, if you live where the roads are currently rideable, the most important thing for you is saddle time. Indoor workouts on the trainer would help, but they are not as useful as "real life" experience where you also develop bike-skills.

How is your tour structured? 350 miles each week? What's the longest one-day ride? The most challenging climb on the route? You'll need to know these things and prepare enough so that you will be comfortable by the time July arrives.

Give us more info and perhaps we can help you a bit more...
:)

gretchen
02-05-2004, 10:52 AM
I am itching to get outside....although the trainer gives me "in the saddle time" it gets old watching The Bathelorette (!) while i ride.