PDA

View Full Version : Campy Chorus Compact question

profŕvélo
08-07-2006, 10:00 AM
I've been riding for over 5 years with a Shimano 9-speed triple, first 105, then Ultegra. On my brand-new bike I have a Campy Chorus 10-speed compact. It's my first time with 1) Campy or 2) a compact crank (or 3) a 10-speed). My DH is pretty good with bike mechanics, and he is trying to help me get everything adjusted right, but since he's never dealt with Campy or compacts before, either, I am not totally convinced he knows what he's doing. The way it's adjusted right now, I have to trim the front every time I switch to the bigger ring. He says this is normal, considering the distance between the two rings. Is he right? I just don't think I should have to trim it all the time.

Pedal Wench
08-07-2006, 10:27 AM
I have compacts on two of my bikes - one is Campy Centaur, one is Campy Record, though I doubt there's any difference with Chorus. I don't have to trim all of the time, but depending where my chain is on my rear cassette, I do have to adjust. But, that's usually if I'm on one of the bigger cogs in the back. I do not trim every time.

Oh - do you have a compact-specific front derailleur? I do on my Record bike, do NOT on my Centaur bike. That being said, I don't notice that I have to trim more with one or the other.

Kalidurga
08-07-2006, 11:08 AM
Trim? That's a term I haven't heard before, but I'd love to know what it means.

alpinerabbit
08-07-2006, 11:26 AM
I have a Chorus set, but went with the Centaur compact crankset because the chorus was too pricey.

If trimming is a bit of adjusting, I have to do it in the small ring now and then.

I think Campy components are valuable enough to take your ride by a bike store. No offense to DH's technical skills of course.

DebW
08-07-2006, 11:29 AM