PDA

View Full Version : Crit newbie!

bluerider
08-05-2006, 07:02 PM
I'm about to enter my first ever crit next weekend. I know what to watch out for basically. My only question is really to get a confidence boost or a reality check! :confused:

They have a newbie field which is great but it's only about 10km which to me isn't much of a challenge. The next field up is a Cat 5 but with girls who have been racing pretty much all season but are at the lowest rung on the racing totem pole. I think I would be sandbagging a 10km ride but I'm also a true true beginner and am tempted to do the longer one. Your thoughts? I know I'm asking a tough question.

I think crits are going to be a really interesting experience. Full out and bike handling are key so I've read. I've read some previous posts on crits and am really thankful for all the previous crit riders who have shared their experience.

Thanks!

velogirl
08-05-2006, 07:50 PM
Where are you located? Do you have a link to the race ad? Although you haven't raced, have you done fast-paced group/pack rides in the past? Have you ever spectated a women's crit?

Don't worry about being a sandbagger. If you've never raced before, you're entitled to race in the beginner's race if you want. Althought the distance sounds short, a 10k crit would be about 20 minutes long -- just enough to get your feet wet and get a feel for what a crit is like (kinda). Depending on the field size, if it's small, you might not really get a true crit/pack experience.