PDA

View Full Version : Drivers in Your Town

pyxichick
08-04-2006, 04:30 PM
I've been riding for exactly three months now, and have logged 1000 miles. It wasn't until yesterday on a group ride that I had an angry motorist encounter, and then later in the same ride, a rowdy bunch of guys yelling out the window (couldn't tell if it was anger or just testosterone.)

This got me to thinking...Minneapolis drivers are, on the whole, very considerate of cyclists. Of all the thousands of drivers I must've encountered in the past 1000 miles, only two felt compelled to yell something out the window, and nobody has launched any projectiles.

I understand this is not the case in every city.

My question to all of you: how would you rate your city's drivers on bicycle awareness/courtesy?

Tri Girl
08-04-2006, 06:47 PM
In central Oklahoma, drivers are pretty tolerant of cyclists (even though there aren't all that many around). It's more of a problem on country roads (2 laners with no shoulder) that I encounter rednecks who try to buzz you or run you off the road. In the 2000 miles I've logged, only had a couple close calls.
Overall- I would rate my big city as an 8.5 of 10. I guess it's the "Oklahoma standard." They're all pretty decent here! I just wish we had bike lanes of any kind... :)

latelatebloomer
08-04-2006, 08:03 PM
I have found our local drivers to be very careful and yielding, but it's a mostly rural area and they also have to deal with agricultural traffic, too - even draft horses from time to time. (Hopefully they don't think I'm a Belgian in bike shorts!!!:eek:) Cyclists are becoming very common here and I figure that almost every driver knows someone who rides.

The only time young guys yelled from a car, they yelled "you can do it" as I flailed up a hill. I figure that even if they were being smart*sses, I could live with that. But who knows, they might really have been amazed to see someone like me taking that hill.