PDA

View Full Version : No Upper Body Movement?

Ceil Adair
08-04-2006, 11:55 AM
Thanks, Stacie. I've been spinning for many years, and know enough to do my own thing when I feel the instructor is really wrong. He taught an hour class today without ever telling anyone to "turn it up". The entire class was at high speed - as fast as you could go - with jumps at least every other song. However, it's the only game in town. :rolleyes:

spokewench
08-04-2006, 02:37 PM
Ceil

Maybe the instructor was trying to train your leg speed?

Dogmama
08-08-2006, 04:02 AM
If we take away the small amount of movement that we should have while standing, the energy goes to our knees.

Stacie, I have an instructor who does this "running" thing - she is in the standing (not climbing) position, hunkers down and spins at over 120 rpms. There is no upper body movement. I've tried to replicate that, but it feels very unnatural. For the record, she has the Bally's certification (Reaction Cycling?).

So you're saying that this is NOT good for knees? I don't do it because it feels weird and because I'm in spinning to help my road riding.

What the heck is Reaction Cycling anyway? I haven't been too impressed.

Raindrop
08-08-2006, 08:44 PM
Reaction Cycling is Ballys version of the Schwinn Certification. And I'm chiming in here to say that none of the certifying bodies condone isolations. However, there will always be those instructors that get certified and then don't adhere to their certifications.

I've been an indoor cycling instructor with with three certifications and lots and lots of CECs for the last ten years and still get surprised when dropping in on other classes.

My creed for participants is: if it doesn't feel right to you...don't do it!

RoadRaven
08-10-2006, 10:44 PM