PDA

View Full Version : Working Man's Stage Race

SheFly
07-24-2006, 05:17 PM
This is my first year of racing on the road, but I have been doing reasonably well, and have kept at it over the season. I decided that I would try my hand at a stage race - something I've never done before.

Working Man's (WMSR), is a three day event held after working hours. Here are the reports that I posted to my club page. Note that I raced in a combined women's 3/4 field.

Stage 1 - 6.6 Mile TT

Today was viciously HOT. OK, maybe hot is an understatement - it was 97 degrees when we started after 6:00 p.m.!

The TT is my specialty, and DH and I had pre-ridden the course on Saturday. It was a 6.6 mile loop with some stinker hills, VERY technical corners (including one at 120 degrees!), and one KOM/QOM hill climb. Also some really fast descents.

Besides my teammates, I didn't really know what to expect from the other women in my field, but they are definitely strong riders. I was somewhat irritated that the woman in front of me had a cheering supporter - in a car on the course! On one technical corner, where I was about to pass her, I had to yell for them to get out of the road. I don't think it slowed me down too much, but I did lose some time, and it was VERY distracting...

I am pleased with my result. My goal was to finish in 18 mins, and I bested that by quite a bit, finishing in 17:17. This was a great result for me, placing me in 4th on the GC after the stage.

Stage 2 - Circuit Race - 8.8 mile loop, 3 laps

It took me some time to evaluate this race in my head. It was mostly frustrating. It seemed that NONE of the women in the field wanted to do any work, all saving themselves for the QOM hill. A Cat 3 racer from another team and I ended up doing most of the effort, but not by choice - we were literally slowing, taking drinks, etc., but NO ONE would pull through to take a turn on the front. At one point, we actually joked about stopping - might have been the right thing to do.