PDA

View Full Version : Surfing

spokewench
07-18-2006, 09:59 AM
One of my best friends turned 50 years old this year and she has always wanted to learn to surf. Of course, that is one thing I've never done before. I'm the one who doesn't like water too much because of a bad experience in my early years. This friend happens to be one of my teammates for 24 hour races (that we used to do together), so it's all or nothing!

But, here we go, we are going to a clinic in August in La Jolla to learn to surf. Who would ever have thought it!

Anyone have any advice for a newbie surfer that is a little worried about water?:eek:

chickwhorips
07-18-2006, 12:17 PM
don't be scared. not sure what happened to you before, but remember if all else fails you can get on top of the board out of the water and slowly paddle back in if your uncomfortable. though there is nothing to worry about. you won't be off shore that far and there will be a bunch of other people around you.

as far as body goes to help out, having good core strength to get up on the board and keep your balance, upper body strength to paddle out there will really help.

once you get out there and catch your first wave, there is nothing like it. the feel is amazing.

the lessons will be good. sometimes i wish i had them. all my instruction was is this:
-paddle out
-when i tell you to paddle hard, you paddle hard and then stand up.

there gave you your first lesson.

spokewench
07-18-2006, 12:38 PM
Thanks for the support and the First Lesson!

It should be a great adventure

spokewench
08-22-2006, 11:56 AM
Well, Lois and I made it back from a week's worth of surfing camp in La Jolla - Surf Diva School. It was great and yes, I got up and rode the waves! It was pretty exciting. The waves most days were not very big so I was not very scared. One day they were pretty big and really steep so I had a couple of spectacular crashes which scared me a little, but I kept going at it!