PDA

View Full Version : tri specific?

Lise
06-30-2006, 06:19 AM
I just got a Serfas women's tri saddle. Different seat post to put me in an "aero" position during the tri, give me more power in the running muscles when I come off the bike.

I'd switched from a Terry CrMo to a Serfas saddle and was happy with it on my Bianchi Veloche. 12 mile ride yesterday with the new Serfas tri saddle, and I was shifting around the whole time to relieve pressure on soft tissue, today pretty sore over the sit bones.

Anyone else with tri saddle experiences/suggestions to share? How important is a tri-specific saddle when riding in the aero bars?

Grog
06-30-2006, 06:59 AM
I have no personal experience of this but a friend of mine got a Concord-looking saddle after becoming extremely concerned with numbness (he's an Ironman type of guy, spends 5 hours on the trainer on a regular basis). He tried many seats and his standards were quite high. This Concord thing has a sloped nose in the front and the "cut-out" is actually going to the end of the saddle in the back. My SO has been looking at a similar saddle (the SLC by Selle Italia I believe) which doesn't have the sloping nose though, and the bike store guy had good things to say about it for long-distance riding, too (but he didn't mention the aero position).

Fizik also makes a tri-specific Arione, but interestingly it has no cut-out. (None of their saddle does, I think they think it's just a fad. They could be right, who knows...)

I found the Jett very comfy when I was in the drops (that's as close as I get to "aero"), unfortunately in the meantime it was biting my bum so I got rid of it. I'm still saddle-shopping so I'll ask specifically about that next time I spend an hour in a store considering different seats!!!! :eek:

Nanci
07-02-2006, 11:11 AM
http://www.bikesportmichigan.com/reviews/saddle06.shtml