PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on commuting to work

cherinyc
06-26-2006, 12:27 PM
Hi - I am one of the lucky ones that live within a commutable biking distance from work (about 5 miles each way)- and plan to start riding to work after some practice riding my new road bike (I am picking her up today).
However, since I am new to cycling and this will be my first road bike - I am nervous about having to carry too much on my back while riding.

I am also a sweater (and I don't mean the wool or cashmere kind):o which makes me wonder about how gross I might be by the time I get to work. The New Jersey area gets pretty hot and humid.

I do not consider myself a primadonna by any means, but I do like to look decent - I wear a little makeup - and I work in the Marketing Dept of a Pharmaceutical Company, so I can't wear shorts or anything.

I would love to hear tips or regimines that you all use. My office building has a small shower downstairs in a ladies locker room, but since it (the gym and locker room) is owned by the building (and we are a tenant) we are not allowed to keep locks on the lockers overnight (to keep soap, etc).
I also have long hair, so a quick shower and blow dry isn't always feasable.
UGGGGHH - there's got to be a solution.
Don't wanna be stinky!!
cheri

SalsaMTB
06-26-2006, 12:58 PM
After commuting, I always shower before work. My first time commuting, I loaded up the bag with all my necessities and boy did it get heavy half way though the 16 mile commute. We have a nice locker room that we are allowed to keep locks on overnight, so I keep all my necessities there now. What about keeping everything at your desk? Do you have a drawer you can store it in? It's sort of a pain to go to your desk, then the locker room, but it's much easier than hauling the blow dryer to and from work every day.