PDA

View Full Version : How to sit when riding trainer?

HappyAnika
06-21-2006, 09:43 AM
I'm pretty new to cycling, just started in April, right after my hubby bought a trainer, and right when the weather got nice enough to ride outside. But now I'm thinking I'd like to throw in a few more quick workouts on the weekdays riding the trainer. My question is, does it matter if you sit like you're really riding with your hands on the handle bars, or can you sit straight up "Look Ma, no hands!" style? Are there advantages or disadvantages to either? I'd kind of like to free up my hands for a book or magazine to stave off boredom, but I'm not sure if I will get the same benefit, or if I might be adding unnecessary strain to a body part, such as knees. (TV/video not an option). Thanks!

DebW
06-21-2006, 10:17 AM
You can buy book holders that mount on the handlebars. I don't really know if one position is better than another. Just like riding on the road, it is probably good to vary your position every so often. I will read the book from the handlebar holder for awhile, then sit up straight and hold it in my hands for awhile.

velogirl
06-21-2006, 01:22 PM
does it matter if you sit like you're really riding with your hands on the handle bars, or can you sit straight up "Look Ma, no hands!" style? Are there advantages or disadvantages to either?

I think it definitely matters, especially as a beginner rider. When you ride the trainer, you're creating habits (muscule memory) that will hopefully transfer to the road. If you create bad habits on the trainer, you're transferring bad habits to the road.

You're also building core/shoulder/neck/arm strength when you ride in the proper riding position (with hands on the bar) that will help you better handle your bike when you ride outside.