PDA

View Full Version : Mt. Hood Cycling Classic

Eden
06-05-2006, 01:01 PM
Wow - this was hard!
As you all probably know by now I race cat 4 and this is my first year. I've done several stage races to this point and I've been having a lot of fun. This race was in a whole different league. I still had a lot of fun, but it was certainly a different level of racing. It was a NRC (National Race Calendar) race and it attracted a lot of high caliber racers - even at my lowly level. There were several teams that came in from farily far away - Colorado, California and the like - there were quite a few Velo Bella gals there, both in the pro-3 and the 3-4 race - anyone here do it too? From what I understand there were few 4's even racing, our field was reportedly mostly 3's.
The pro men's and pro women's fields had a lot of top level teams and names that I recognized. Health Net, Webcore and Navigators were all there for the men - Colavita, McGuire and Symetrics among others were there with big pro womens teams. I really think our 1-3 women were amazing out there, competing with the pro gals, but on to my race.

We only did 3 of the 6 stages - a 38 mile circuit race, a 10.5 mile TT and a 27 mile road race. We did not have to do the crit, which has a brutal reputation. I heard that there were no less than 6 crashes in the women's pro-3 field this year.

day 1 - 38 miles, 3600 ft circuit race