PDA

View Full Version : Durable but FAST rolling road bike tires?

jpbayarea
05-29-2006, 03:24 PM
I have some great wheels but here in San Diego area the bike lanes are full of thorns, debris and such and I keep flatting I want a new tire and am
considering the Armadillos which I hear are almost unflattable but wonder if
anyone rides on them and finds they roll well or not. I am spoiled with very sweet rolling tires but getting fed up with flats. I'd appreciate any ideas from you roadies out there.

Thanks, Jpbayarea

velogirl
05-29-2006, 04:03 PM
I'm a big Kenda fan. I've been riding the Calientes for the past three years (winter and summer) and I can count the number of flats I've had on one hand. I'm a big girl, but I get about 3,000 miles out of them too! I'm sure I've jinxed myself now by saying that.....

salsabike
05-29-2006, 04:09 PM
I've used both Specialized Armadillos and Continental Gatorskins and they're both great---slick but strong.

Aggie_Ama
05-30-2006, 07:06 AM
DH put a pair of Gatorskins on my bike in October because I was flatting all the time. I refused to ride by myself because I flatted so much. The area around us has a lot of construction debris and trash. At the risk of jinxing myself I have not flatted on the road since getting the Gatorskins. I have had one or two slow leaks that went flat overnight.

I recently replaced the front tire because the sidewall had a bulge. They probably aren't the fastest tires, but then again they are faster than zero mph to change a flat. Honestly my old tires were nothing special (just factory on a entry level bike) so I couldn't tell a change.

The guys at the LBS back in College Station swore by Armadillos for training. The girls (I love it here- women in the shop) at the LBS in Austin said many of them use the Gatorskins for training.

bcipam
05-30-2006, 01:42 PM