PDA

View Full Version : Correct Riding Position

CycleChic06
05-24-2006, 05:45 AM
Hi everyone,
This is sorta piggy-back off another thread, but it wasn't really answered so I thought I'd start a new one.

I'm relatively new to cycling. I got really into it last summer, riding in my good ole Jamis hybrid from college. After a while I felt very limited in the distances I could go on that bike and a few months ago I bought a road bike, clipless pedals and all (so far I have fallen only once in a very embarrasing moment in front of the cute guy that lives across the street from me).

ANYWAY, I've been wondering what the optimal riding position is on a road bike. Someone had mentioned keeping your back flat...but what about your feet? Should they stay flat or is pointing them a bit ok?

Thanks!

Geonz
05-24-2006, 06:51 AM
Falling in front of cute guys justmeans they think you've fallen for them. It's not necessarily a bad thing :-)

Can't answer your question at all. I'm still hybridizing.

AuntieK
05-24-2006, 07:14 AM
I recently went in for a bike fitting, and was told that I needed to fix my position on the bike. Here are some tips I was given:

First, sit up straight, and with good posture (back flat, chest out, chin down) on your bike (easier if on a trainer). Bend over from your hips, keeping the same good posture. In this position you will be sitting more on your pubic bone (bothersome at first, still trying to get used to it). Also, I've noticed when I'm in this position my thighs tend to bump my tummy. When I have the tummy bump going on, I know I've got it right.

About the feet: if you were standing around tippy-toed, you could only stand that way for a little while before your calves got too tired. But if you stood there flat footed, your calves could stand to be that way all day. Same goes on the bike: less fatigue for your calves if you ride flat-footed.

luv'nAustin
05-24-2006, 08:02 AM