PDA

View Full Version : Very new to biking...have very sore fanny..help

english rose
08-19-2003, 01:43 PM
Hi there,

I have been browsing for awhile..finally have the courage to speak up. I am very new to this amazing activity. I have lost 85lbs and still have a long way to go(135lb). Riding is helping me in so many ways. Anyway..my fanny is sore all the time. I ride 7 miles daily on streets that vary in grade..some hills that are kicking my but. So..now here is the deal..am I doing something wrong..or does it just take time to condition my botton. I have just orderd the padded biking shorts from this site and hopefully that will help. I am riding a very entry level K2 hybrid bike. My goal is distance riding. Last weekend I did 10 miles...this weekend I am going for 15. Eventually the STP..oh my..is that possible? whew...

Thanks in advance.

Tasha

hibiscus09
08-19-2003, 01:52 PM
Tasha -- I bet the shorts will make a world of difference!! My sister is having the same problem & is riding without padded shorts. There's no way I'd want to ride without them! :)

missliz
08-19-2003, 10:29 PM
There's several reason why your butt might hurt. Cycling shorts will help, but they're more about chafing. You may need to change your bike seat. They wear out, and often bikes come with cheesy seats anyway. You don't need a hundred dollar seat for the distances you ride, you can get nice ones for $25 or so. It depends what you want.
Do you have a bike shop where they're nice to you? They can help you out. It may be that you need some minor adjustment to the bike.
Come back and ask all the questions you want. We're here to help.

missliz

cyclechick
08-27-2003, 09:49 AM
My guess it's your seat and/or bike set up. Make sure you "fit" your bike. I see a lot of people ride too high or too low (eating their knees)...A bike shop should be able to set you up properly. Basically, only a small bend in your knees when fully extended. If you extend too much you're "rocking" on the seat.