PDA

View Full Version : oh my, I want to be a triathlete - help?

DrBee
05-08-2006, 10:21 AM
Have I lost my mind? I've decided to start training for my first triathlon. :eek: It's not until next May - so I'm starting with baby steps. I've always been a strong swimmer, but haven't swam in a while. I'm not too worried about that part, I don't think. It's the running that makes me nervous. I haven't run since before I had knee surgery many years ago. So - do you have any suggestions for shoes, reputable shoe stores, and training tips? How's that for a bunch of nebulous questions in one post? ;)

JoyfullySo
05-08-2006, 12:07 PM
Dear fishdr,

Being a newbie myself, I will not even attempt to answer any techincal questions. That is best left to the more experienced. However, this is one thing that I have read on a regular basis- if you want to do a tri, you probably can. Just think of the woman who could not because of sickness, disability, or lack previous athletic experience. Next thing you know, she is crossing a finish line somewhere. We cheer, cry, and become inspiried to follow in her footsteps, hopefully becoming triathletes ourselves.

I believe that when you have the urge to tri, you will not be satisfied until you do... Is that crazy? What about everyone else??

Not a very technical answer, but hopefully and encouraging one....

colby
05-08-2006, 07:10 PM
Well, in the end, I went to a running shoe store and tried on nearly every shoe until they felt right. Going to a "sports store" like Gart or Sports Authority or REI or <other big store> doesn't really work as well as the running stores, they really have a better grasp on brands, fits, and finding the shoe that works for you.