PDA

View Full Version : Pedal question...

Brandy
05-05-2006, 10:04 AM
Hi!

I'm totally new to cycling and considering buying a used Trek 1000 WSD if all works out. My question is about pedals. As a new rider should I go with SPD or LOOK compatible pedals? I have two pairs of cycling shoes that I use for Spinning...

Sidi Raiden road shoes with LOOK cleats
Diadora Gecko MTB shoes with SPD cleats

I've used the Sidi's for about six months, and I'm more comfortable with the LOOK cleats. I'm still getting the hang of the SPD's and have a little bit more trouble clipping in with those, but I've only had them for about a week.

Any suggestions?

SadieKate
05-05-2006, 10:07 AM
If you're familiar with Looks on the road, stay with them.

You'll get the hang of the SPds for mtnbiking. I use Looks on the road and Eggbeaters on dirt. Just give it time and you'll be comfortable with both.

Brandy
05-05-2006, 11:25 AM
Thanks. I feel like I have more power in my pedal stroke with the LOOK cleats, so I'd love to stick with those (especially since they're on my SIDI's) but I was confused because I kept seeing that people recommended SPD's for beginners.

Eden
05-05-2006, 11:49 AM
Thanks. I feel like I have more power in my pedal stroke with the LOOK cleats, so I'd love to stick with those (especially since they're on my SIDI's) but I was confused because I kept seeing that people recommended SPD's for beginners.

I think a lot of people recommend them for first timers because 1. They are relatively easy to get in and out of and unlike many traditional road pedals they are double sided entry. 2. You can walk on the cleat with relative ease, especially if you get mt. bike shoes and the cleat is recessed.
SPD's I think were the first mt. bike cleat too, so many people are familiar with them. Now there are more choices, like frogs and eggbeaters for mt. biking/touring and lots of new road pedal systems also.