PDA

View Full Version : hello?

gnarwhal
04-30-2006, 12:58 PM
Hi i'm new to cycling and the forum...not sure what to say really.

I've decided i need something fun and something to get me fit, i'm a bit out of shape really and not pleased about it. I have a 3 year old and i'm a full time mum and part time University student so i don't have a lot of time to work out or anything like that. I really enjoyed cycling when i was young and used my bike to get about (to school, work and on a paper round) and i can't drive so i thought getting a bike would be perfect.
I bought myself a hybrid bike because i plan to use it mostly in town - it's a Carrera Subway 1.

I've not riden much in about 4 or 5 years so i'm out of shape and my legs are all wobbly - any recommendations for how much/far i should start cycling.

thanks.

k.

Melody
04-30-2006, 01:02 PM
I've not riden much in about 4 or 5 years so i'm out of shape and my legs are all wobbly - any recommendations for how much/far i should start cycling.

Hi gnarwal. :) Welcome to the forums. Drop on by the Getting to Know You (http://forums.teamestrogen.com/showthread.php?t=2001) thread and say hi :)

As to how far and how much you should start doing, listen to your body. Even if you only do a mile or two initially the important thing is you're getting out and cycling. :) Distance and speed come with time. :)

Good luck with getting back to cycling and welcome!

Mel

gnarwhal
04-30-2006, 01:08 PM
Thanks Melody.

yeah i've got an essay due this week so i was going to wait til next week before starting properly but i plan to ride every day for about a half hour to start.

heading on over to the introduce myself forum :D

Melody
04-30-2006, 01:16 PM
30 minutes to start is great. I think the first time I got on the bike I lasted maybe 15 when I asked my husband if he minded if I went home because I was exhausted. heh. :)

Good luck! :)

Mel

fatbottomedgurl
04-30-2006, 06:49 PM