PDA

View Full Version : Dancing anyone?

Polly
04-20-2006, 03:02 PM
Whilst not exactly sport - i do find it keeps me fit -

I have tapped since being a small girl, but have recently taken up irish (extremely aerobic) and belly dancing (great for core strength)

anyone else use dance as a keep fit exercise?

amcgltdchix
04-23-2006, 10:22 AM
I sure do. I'm a professional belly dancer here in VA:) especially if you do your drills with a weighted hip belt..it blasts your muscles even more:)

RoadRaven
04-24-2006, 01:45 PM
WOOHOO!!!

Belly dancing!

I start my very first class next Thursday! 9 days to go... I can't wait!

uforgot
04-25-2006, 01:06 AM
When I was 8 years old my mom dragged me to my first dance class. I remember that I didn't want to go, but by the time I was 13, I was my teacher's assistant and loved it. I did it all, jazz, tap, ballet and my favorite...toe. I've taught various classes over the years, choreographed musicals and am teaching summer school dance (jazz) to high school girls. As far as keeping fit, seems that no matter how much I dance, how many hours I devote, I could still lose 10 pounds! (Even as a teen when I danced several hours a day, I fought the weight!) Guess though that being able to bend over and lay my hands flat on the floor or still being able to do the splits at 51 is a perk. I haven't done any belly dancing, but I have eyed a few videos. Looks fun, and I bet a class of it with others would be a blast!

Carm
04-26-2006, 02:16 PM
I love to dance -studied ballet for 20 years until my son was born. I have been taking Flamenco dance lessons for the past two years. It's really hard on my legs and feet as there is a lot of stomping so I don't know how long I'll last at this.

uk elephant
04-27-2006, 03:05 AM