PDA

View Full Version : Clean Shorts

three
04-13-2006, 02:31 PM
Hello everyone! I'm new to cycling and this forum. I've been reading through many of the threads on here to see if I can get my initial questions answered. I've been successful with some (I'll be buying a Diva-cup or Moon-cup soon) but, one remains. Everything I've read online speaks to the importance of wearing clean cycling shorts. Obviously, I would think it's important to avoid allowing too much bacteria to grow. I recently got my first pair of cycling shorts ever, and I'm still getting used to wearing them (and commando at that). Here's the issue. I change my underwear everyday, that's what we're supposed to do. But, my cycling shorts get used and thereby exposed to dainty parts that release certain fluids and I don't throw them in the laundry? It's not like I have lots of pairs of them, or can afford any others right now. How many times do I wear them before I wash them? (1) And, how do I wash them to keep them in good condition? (2) I like my bras, they aren't cheap...so I wash by hand so as to keep them around as long as possible. Do I have to do the same for cycling shorts? (3) Finally, how long are they supposed to last...how long does the padding in them stay good? (4) Sorry this is so long and if it's stupid. I asked my bf and he didn't see why my shorts would be treated any differently than his. Maybe I'm totally wrong, but I figured that the biology of a woman (discharge and cycles) might impact how often to clean or how to clean. ???

bike4ever
04-13-2006, 02:36 PM
I will only wear them once then wash; however, I have 3 pairs of shorts. At my Women's Cycling Seminar last week, our Sugoi rep suggested to the group to take the shorts into the shower and wash them out while you shower. She said that she has done this for years and will then wash them every 3 rides or so. Hope this helps.

Robbin_G
04-13-2006, 02:41 PM