PDA

View Full Version : Proud Bike Parent

moo bean
04-06-2006, 03:06 AM
I rode my new bike home tonight, after the very helpful and pleasant David at Cheeky Monkey put it all together.

Introducing ... Astro!

http://static.flickr.com/46/124151006_30b5f98ef8.jpg

http://static.flickr.com/36/124151009_08f22e6907.jpg

Hopefully my old GT Timberline workhorse won't die from envy of its shiny new sibling,

Barb
04-06-2006, 03:59 AM
SWEET RIDE!!!! Very cool.

ladyfish
04-06-2006, 05:52 AM
I admit freely that I'm a newbie. So here goes: what kind of handle bars are those? I haven't seen them before. They sure look cool!

dreamin'
04-06-2006, 11:54 AM
Like ladyfish, I am also curious about your handlebars. Would you also tell us about the rack, fenders, and lights?

Are you getting set for touring on this great-looking bike?

Lindell

moo bean
04-06-2006, 01:18 PM
I was looking for a bike that would do the job as not only my everyday commuter but also my longer weekend rides (which the GT just hasn't been suited for). And ultimately, yes, I'm looking to do some touring.

Hopefully this girl will do the trick.

The light is a 5W NiteFlux Vision Stick (http://www.niteflux.com.au/ProdView.aspx?popup=1&Category=PGUNF&Product=NFVS-10244) -- it's the only part of the whole ensemble that's made its way from the old bike. It's nice and bright and lets me see as well as be seen, which good for some of the woefully underlit roads on my way home (where is that pothole?). On the downside, it only gives about 5 minutes warning between "the batteries are running low" and "total battery death", so I tend to run an extra LED as backup. I haven't added that yet. The battery pack for the Vision Stick is that black barrel down near the waterbottle cage.