PDA

View Full Version : I have no idea what mtb bike to buy-

crazycanuck
04-01-2006, 05:28 AM
HEy chickies.(moved this thread to the more logical area...)

Can someone please help me with my newest bike dilemma. I'm looking at purchasing a new mtn bike but am lost!!!

My first decision is whether to stick with a hardtail or move up in the world to a duallie. I'm not a pro but love to get out on the trails and go for it. The boys we ride with all have dualie's and are telling me i'll regret getting a hardtail again. Our trusted bike shop dude-(we spend most of our time there driving them nuts & spending all our $$$ at the shop)- believes a hardtail would do me just fine.

I've checked out specialized, but our LBS doesn't stock Specialized as only the big bike shops have the rights.I feel guilty going to one of the big chains & really should support the little guys.

Also,i'm unsure if i want a WSD as they're hard to get in WA & if i don't want the bike they order, the bike shop will have a problem selling it....('ve kept an eye on the post somewhere on this board about WSD bikes....)

I really have no idea about the diff btwn each bike co & why one is better...What is the diff btwn Giant, Kona, Specialized & Scott????

So, right now i'm looking at the Scott range.

Also, i'm sure this has been discussed as well but i'll ask it again. What were your(those who went from hardtail to a duallie) impressions of riding a duallie??? Was it worth the change?? Did you stick with the same co or change? Did you move from a normal design to wsd???Please let me know.

Thanks
C

crazycanuck
View Public Profile
Send a private message to crazycanuck
Find More Posts by crazycanuck
Add crazycanuck to Your Buddy List

Kathi
04-01-2006, 07:55 AM
I ride a Titus Racer X. Even though their bikes are not listed as WSD my bike shop said they are designed with the needs of women in mind, especially the XXS and XS.

A duelie makes challenging spots easier.

wavedancer
04-01-2006, 08:41 AM