PDA

View Full Version : Training for Century, need to know how to use HR Manitor

FreshNewbie
03-31-2006, 10:36 AM
Hi all,

I am pretty new to cycling, started last summer. This year my goal is to complete a century ride in August. It will be a flat ride with one long hill towards the end. Reading articles about centuries I came across the importance of HR manitors, so I went and bought one. So, I was wondering if any of you who use heart rate manitors can share the info on how you use them. In what % of MHR do you train, and actually try to ride the century in. Your info will be appreciated as always :D Thanks:)

Derf
04-12-2006, 09:26 PM
Good work on getting an HR monitor. It is a great training tool. Do you do spin classes at a gym by any chance? Sometimes the instructor will tell you how much time you should spent at what % of your maximum. I think the rough forumla for max heartrate is 226 minus your age. Do a search on the net and you should turn up some suggestions for building a training program. I've used my monitor for almost 2 years and love it.

maillotpois
04-13-2006, 06:37 AM
I agree - there are a lot of good books out there which can give you training programs. Most of your riding should be done at an endurance pace - I believe, but am not certain, that this is about your 80% of max level.

I think Veronica trains with a HRM and when she gets back from her trip she can probably give some pointers. I gave up the HRM years ago and haven't looked back! :cool:

Nanci
04-13-2006, 08:00 AM
"Sally Edwards' Heart Zone Training: Exercise Smart, Stay Fit and Live Longer"

Sally Edwards has one of the more popular, in-depth HR training books out there.

Nanci

FreshNewbie
04-13-2006, 08:12 AM