PDA

View Full Version : Empty Vessel

MelC
03-27-2006, 01:23 PM
I am completely new to the world of mountain biking - all mountain biking I have done before has involved borrowed or rental bikes. Of course, being me, I bought a bike with lots of bells and whistles (to be fair it was used...) and now I have no idea what I need to do to maintain this bike. I was in the store the other day and was amazed to see that they were selling pumps for the shocks (this is a full suspension). To date my bike maintenance has involved (a) pumping up the tires, (b) replacing any flats, (c) having the chain cleaned and relubed once a year, (d) replacing pedals and seats as required, (e) raising and lowering the seatpost and handlebars to taste, and (f) having the brakes adjusted annually. Do I need a shock pump? Do I need to put fluid in my hydraulic brakes. Help! What else don't I know that I don't know?

Can someone give me a checklist and a maintenance schedule? I feel like I just bought a car :)

Mel

SadieKate
03-27-2006, 01:45 PM
Have you looked on the manufacturer's web site to download the owner's manuals? First place to start.

Then, go to www.parktool.com for good basics.

Mtbike chains, brakes and cables need a lot more attention that a once a year look over.

madisongrrl
03-29-2006, 07:36 AM
(a) pumping up the tires, (b) replacing any flats,

Excellent...

(c) having the chain cleaned and relubed once a year,

This is something you are going to have to do more freqently depending on how often you ride. My mountain bike gets degreased and lubed after every off-road ride. If I've been just riding on the road, then maybe once a week. It certainly gets degreased and lubed before every race.

(d) replacing pedals and seats as required, (e) raising and lowering the seatpost and handlebars to taste, and (f) having the brakes adjusted annually

This is good...