PDA

View Full Version : new to multisport--where to start?

bluedress
03-13-2006, 12:00 PM
Hi! I am new to multisport races. I have a good base of fitness and lots of motivation but am not sure where to go from here, how to hammer out a training schedule, etc. I try to read about things and eventually get overwhelmed. I strength train. Cycling base is good. Running should come easy. Have not swam in years—am considering sticking with duathlons this year and working swimming in next off-season for next year—but am not decided. How do I put it all together in some useful sort of way? Ideally the “planning” will be the easy part so I can put the effort in the training. Help?

Want to avoid going mental on this.:confused:
--Marca

Lise
03-13-2006, 08:04 PM
Hi, Marcia, sounds like you already have a good start. I found Eric Harr's book, [U]Triathlon Training in Four Hours a Week[U] to be really, really helpful. It's got training programs for everybody from beginners to accomplished athletes.

The swim portion is the shortest part of any triathlon, so if you can get in some swim practice, you'll probably be good to go by summer, esp. if you start with sprints, which I really recommend.

I'm glad to see that you introduced yourself over on the "Getting to know you" thread --I'm going to go get to know you now!

take care,

Lise

bluedress
03-13-2006, 08:39 PM
Thanks, Lise! The encouragement to push past the fear of the swim is very helpful. (I just might do it.) I will look up that book.

I found the "getting to know you" thread and posted my introduction this evening. :)

Grog
03-13-2006, 08:41 PM
Hi Marca and welcome to TE!