PDA

View Full Version : newbie question

uk elephant
03-08-2006, 07:46 AM
So I have this brand new (month old) bike and love it, but it's doing something that worries me. I'm not good at writing, and now sure how to explain, but I'm hoping someone will be able to think of what the problem is.

I have a very nice new Specialized Tricross, but sometimes the bike just doesn't run smoothly and I can't quite place the problem. I think I came to the conclusion on my ride today that "it" was located in the chain/cog/derailer area. As I was pedalling, it felt like the chain was tugging at something...or was it the crank not moving around smoothly....in any event, I could feel it in the pedals. This has happened before, and I thought it was the pedals because they were very loose. I too the bike back to the shop and they agreed the pedals were too loose and put new ones on. The new ones are fine, not vibrating at all. So I'm back to the chain/cog/derailer. Could it have something to do with mud and rain? I hadn't noticed it for a while, until yesterday (it was raining) and it got worse today (rain and muddy path). Could it be mud clogging things up? Or should I be worried that it's something worse? If so, what could it be?

Hopefully some of you can desciphre my random description and come with some ideas of what it could be.....

Trek420
03-08-2006, 09:14 AM
Yes, absolutely can have a lot to do with mud, gunk, dust, sludge in the works. A clean chain is a happy chain.

I clean the entire bike including power train (chain, deraileurs etc) about every 3 rides, or 300 miles, or whenever the bike "asks" me to, whichever is first.

I've got 4 minutes left on break :eek: but we've got a lot of new bikergals here so there's tons of info re maintenance here.

DebW
03-08-2006, 10:11 AM