PDA

View Full Version : How much spin?

jackierose24
03-07-2006, 11:55 AM
Question For Everyone Out There. I Have Been Spinning For About 5 Months 3 Times A Week, Is This Too Much? And Also I Have Found It To Be A Great Leg And Butt Workout So I Ditched My Old Squats And Lunges. Does Anyone Know If This Is Too Much Spin And If Resistance Training Is Necessary Because I Dont Want To Gain Too Much Muscle, But Right Now I Am Happy With The Way Everything Looks. Responses Are Appreciated=)

han-grrl
03-07-2006, 12:04 PM
what are your fitness goals?

Spinning classes are cardio workouts.

Weight training builds muscle mass.

that being said, muscle mass helps with cardio - like climbing hills, but good cardio gives you the endurance to handle the hills.

staying in the high repetition lighter weight range won't build bulk.
building bulks is VERY hard and time consuming, and takes many many calories. most of us don't even eat enough to sustain our body weight let alone gain extra.

so do both! (with good form of course) and dont' forget to stretch (with good form).

Wizzer
05-09-2006, 07:07 PM
This is a good question. Spinning is basically a cardio workout using your lower body. I have been teaching for around 3yrs now and have seen a difference in the toning of my legs, but you should still continue with your resistance training.

Resistance training helps with your cycling and helps with bone density that you want to hold on to as you get older (very important to prevent osteoperosis).

It is so hard to gain muscle mass as a woman, we don't produce enough testosterone to achieve these goals, so I really wouldn't worry about that. Going heavier with your weights will just make you more toned and stronger.