PDA

View Full Version : Denise Goldberg

Nanci
02-23-2006, 09:40 AM
Wow, your webpages sure have a lot of stuff to keep someone who is having a slow day at work busy. I am reading about what's in your bags/panniers right now, and my main question is, when you go touring, do you go by yourself, or with someone?

I wish my tax return hadn't run out before I got to buy a superlight tent (or a bolero!)

Nanci

DeniseGoldberg
02-23-2006, 10:56 AM
Nanci -
What an unexpected surprise, a thread with my name as the subject!

My touring companion is me... I started in the world of touring back in 1988 doing supported (as in group) tours. But when I graduated to self-supported tours back in 1998 I also changed to touring solo. I really enjoy touring alone; I ride at my own pace - for as long as I feel like riding, I stop and play with my camera, my rest days are when I need them (no compromises!) - and I find that I meet more people that live in the areas I am traveling through. I've found that talking with strangers happens a lot more often when I'm alone than if I'm with a group. And for me that is part of the magic of touring.

I don't think there is a right or wrong answer though. I live alone, so touring alone doesn't seem odd at all to me. I know other people who are happier (or more comfortable) when they have built-in company on their tours. It's whatever feels right to you.

--- Denise

SadieKate
02-23-2006, 10:58 AM
My touring companion is me... seWait a minute. What about the pooch? :p

SadieKate
02-23-2006, 11:00 AM
Don't forget him!

http://denise.smugmug.com/photos/27253019-S-1.jpg

DeniseGoldberg
02-23-2006, 11:04 AM
Wait a minute. What about the pooch? :p