PDA

View Full Version : road bike or hybrid?

GreenLizard
02-12-2006, 12:56 PM
I am just getting into cycling and want to buy a bike. Originally my plans were to get a road bike, but I am now also considering buying a hybrid (multiterrain bike). I plan to do group rides with a local club, probably on the roads, but considering when I ride on my own I often ride on bumpy sidewalks and alleys, and jump high curbs, so I thought a hybrid might be better for me so I don't have to be too careful with it. But I have read on other forums that hybrids are slower than road bikes and are not good for group rides. What should I do?

Melody
02-12-2006, 04:33 PM
Hi GreenLizard. Welcome to the forums. There's a thread in Open Topics called "Getting to know you." Come and introduce yourself there. :)

Hybrids generally will be slower than a road bike. This doesn't mean you won't be able to fast. Depending in your fit you could compensate for it.

What is your primary impetus for riding? Is it to get fit? Commuting? Just riding for fun?

If you're looking at riding with a group on the road getting dropped is never any fun. Being able to get the highest chance of staying with the group will increase your enjoyment of the ride. :)

If you're worried about bumpy sidewalks on a road bike, don't be. In addition you can jump curbs on one though you do need to do it right and make sure you're not going too fast.

Mel

Grog
02-12-2006, 05:16 PM
I strongly feel against a hybrid on group rides (with roadies). It will severely handicap you, unless you are already a prime cyclist (which is unlikely if you are just buying a bike right now). Road bikes are also more resistant than we tend to think (although jumping curbs should not necessarily be a frequent activity with 23C tires).