PDA

View Full Version : 700c -> 650c on a Road Bike

JoHunter
02-06-2006, 11:57 PM
Hi everyone, I've just bought a very small road bike frame and had it fitted with standard parts to get me going. However when I saw the 700c wheels on it it's definitely all out of proportion. I'm worried that I might have a bit of toe overlap and would like to put some 650c wheels on it instead. Does this mean that I will have to change the fork as well? Or are there brake levers that will be able to reach it that extra bit further. Also I have the 170mm cranks and have heard horror stories of pedals scraping the ground when using smaller wheels. Fact or Wivestale? Thanks a lot!

SadieKate
02-07-2006, 07:49 AM
Why did you buy this bike if you don't like 700 wheels? Frames and fork are designed to be ridden with certain wheel size. Brakes won't fit, fork rake will be wrong, BB god only knows, I'm not an engineer. I've never heard of any adaptors to make brakes work.

I don't think I have one bike that doesn't have toe overlap. I've never had a problem, you just need to be aware of it. Didn't you determine overlap before you bought the bike?

fixedgeargirl
02-07-2006, 08:52 AM
However when I saw the 700c wheels on it it's definitely all out of proportion.

Forget how it looks, does it function?

Grog
02-07-2006, 08:55 AM
However when I saw the 700c wheels on it it's definitely all out of proportion.

What do you mean by "out of proportion"???

I have a very tiny frame and the wheels _do_ look very big on it. It _looks_ out of proportion, but it's correctly sized anyway.

I think you should be a bike fit with a professional at a reputable bike shop. But it is certain that your current fork, if it is made for 700 wheels, will not take 650 wheels.

Running Mommy
02-07-2006, 11:01 AM