PDA

View Full Version : Why did I do this?

Charlieggo
09-29-2012, 04:39 PM
A little help please. Let me preface this by saying, I am new to touring but it is something I have been dreaming about forever. I am lacking in funds lately, but this summer I sold my Felt road bike and bought a Nashbar touring bike online and took a weeklong solo tour through California - awesome. Now, I have been daydreaming and researching touring bicycles because, even though the Nashbar is a capable bike, I don't want to dump a lot of money into it and I'd like to start out by getting properly fitted at a bike shop with a new build and proper gearing. So...why did I do this? I was looking on Craigslist and I see a great deal on a Co-Motion Norwester Tour. It was a beautiful bike. I email the guy and he says it should fit people 5'7"-5'10" perfect for me. It is in a price range I can afford for a bike I never thought I could afford. I had basically made up my mind to buy it before I got there. Well the bike is beautiful, I got a good price, but as it turns out, as sanity crept back in, I realize the frame is much too small for me. I can probably tweak it and get it to fit, but I don't think I will be happy, this should be a forever bike, not one that I know is too small for me. So what to do? I can sell it and get my money back I guess, but what about swapping out the frame and transferring the parts to an appropriately sized frame? Is that doable? Anybody suggestions?

sashadieken
09-29-2012, 05:04 PM
I just wanted to say I like your dog :)

Charlieggo
09-29-2012, 06:00 PM
I just wanted to say I like your dog :)

Thank you. That is Argus, also known as Baby Huey.

IBrakeforPastry
09-30-2012, 06:21 AM
I second the suggestion to take it to a fitter. Sometimes we get used to a certain fit, thinking it's correct. I'm going for a fitting this week and I'm really interested to see if the bike I splurged on is the right one for me. Good luck - I really hope you can make it work.

wildrover