PDA

View Full Version : Garmin Edge 500 -- ? re: cadence sensor package



zoom-zoom
05-02-2012, 07:28 PM
I see that there are different packages for this unit. I already have the cadence sensor that works with my Forerunner 305. If I purchased an Edge 500 without the cadence sensor (included in some packages) would it work with the one I already own? I'm assuming that all of the 500s are the same, aside from the package deals...? :confused:

ny biker
05-02-2012, 07:41 PM
I bought the basic Edge 500 that came with just the bike mount, power cable and USB cable. I didn't need the Garmin speed/cadence sensor because I wanted to use the Bontrager Duotrap sensor instead, and I don't need a HRM.

I'm pretty sure (but not 100%) that the Garmin speed/cadence sensor that comes with the Edge in the package deal is the same one you can buy a la carte.

BTW even if you get the package that comes with everything, you might still need to get a spoke magnet.

zoom-zoom
05-02-2012, 07:55 PM
I'm pretty sure (but not 100%) that the Garmin speed/cadence sensor that comes with the Edge in the package deal is the same one you can buy a la carte.

BTW even if you get the package that comes with everything, you might still need to get a spoke magnet.

Ok, that is what I suspected.

Does your spoke not come close enough to the sensor to pick it up? We got DS a bike computer with cadence sensor for his tiny CX bike, but we think we may need a stronger magnet, since it doesn't pick up.

ny biker
05-02-2012, 08:07 PM
My spoke magnet works fine. I don't know the brand or anything about it -- a mechanic at the LBS put it on the bike for me, probably when I first bought the bike and they were setting up my old Polar cycle computer for me.

I do have problems with the speed sensor on my mountain bike not working, even when it is hitting the magnet as the wheel spins. That bike has a low-end Bontrager computer on it. I haven't yet tried to figure out what the problem is with it.

ny biker
05-02-2012, 08:09 PM
Just checked DC Rainmaker -- perhaps this will answer your question.

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2009/11/garmin-edge-500-in-depth-review.html

Looks like the magnet is included with the bundle package that comes with the speed/cadence sensor.

I think I need to take the time to read this whole thing in detail. It looks jam-packed with info.

Blueberry
05-02-2012, 08:29 PM
Dcrainmaker's site is very helpful for all things Garmin!

Magnets can definitely de-magnetize. I've had to buy spares to replace them before (they just stopped working - new magnet fixed it).

zoom-zoom
05-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Dcrainmaker's site is very helpful for all things Garmin!

Yes it is...I've looked at his reviews for other Garmin devices in the past. He is thorough! Though he doesn't really specify whether the Edge 500s that are not part of a package will still work with the accessories--I assume they would, though.

Blueberry
05-02-2012, 08:50 PM
Yes it is...I've looked at his reviews for other Garmin devices in the past. He is thorough! Though he doesn't really specify whether the Edge 500s that are not part of a package will still work with the accessories--I assume they would, though.

Oh - I didn't mean to imply he answered your question - just that he's a treasure trove of more than you ever wanted to know:)

The Edge 500 will work with Ant + accessories - so if you already have a sensor, you're good. The Edge 200 (which looks exactly the same) will not because it doesn't have Ant + built in.

zoom-zoom
05-02-2012, 08:53 PM
Ahhh...OK, that's what I thought. I wasn't sure if the ones they didn't bundle with accessories were like the Forerunner 205 vs. 305 where the former has no wireless capabilities.

I think I know what I'm asking for for Mother's Day. My 305's strap is really wearing from all of the on-and-off the bike it gets.

zoom-zoom
05-02-2012, 08:56 PM
And a Google search of Garmin's forums supports that suspicion. (https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?t=21215)

OakLeaf
05-03-2012, 03:48 AM
Yes, it's all the same. The HR strap that was bundled with my 705 is the same one I use with my 310XT. I'm on my second (never bundled) footpod and my third cadence sensor (the original one was bundled, Garmin warrantied the other two, and what they sent me was the same package you might get if you were buying it for a non-bundled set). I've also paired the cadence sensor with the 310 and used it a few times.

The cadence sensor comes with both its magnets. The wheel sensor pickup arm adjusts separately from the body of the sensor, so with a little fiddling you should be able to get it close enough to read both magnets, regardless of your frame geometry. You can place the body either above or below the chainstay, whichever gets it positioned right to read both.

zoom-zoom
05-03-2012, 06:48 AM
The cadence sensor comes with both its magnets. The wheel sensor pickup arm adjusts separately from the body of the sensor, so with a little fiddling you should be able to get it close enough to read both magnets, regardless of your frame geometry. You can place the body either above or below the chainstay, whichever gets it positioned right to read both.

Yup, I've never had issues with my cadence sensor and magnets. My kid's unit is a Cateye, I think. That unit is much less adjustable, unfortunately.

I think I'm definitely going to give the Edge 500 a go. It makes so much more sense than constantly strapping my FR 305 on and off the bike (I am not fond of the quick release set-up for that--it's bulky and uncomfortable on my wrist and I don't think it's very secure on the bike end, either).

Maye
05-03-2012, 06:30 PM
Oh - I didn't mean to imply he answered your question - just that he's a treasure trove of more than you ever wanted to know:)

The Edge 500 will work with Ant + accessories - so if you already have a sensor, you're good. The Edge 200 (which looks exactly the same) will not because it doesn't have Ant + built in.

Yes, my brother in law uses the Edge with the Wahoo HRM and speed/cadence combo since they have the Ant+ sensors.

Zoom: I'm planning to suggest my husband to gift me an Edge 500 for mothers day :D

zoom-zoom
05-03-2012, 06:31 PM
Zoom: I'm planning to suggest my husband to gift me an Edge 500 for mothers day :D

I have great ideas, sometimes! :D

ehirsch83
05-04-2012, 07:24 AM
I have an Edge 500 and just use the GPS measurements for speed and cadence.

It is all pretty accurate and no real need to go buy the additional sensors :)

OakLeaf
05-04-2012, 07:57 AM
How do you get cadence from the GPS??

ehirsch83
05-04-2012, 10:20 AM
How do you get cadence from the GPS??


Wow. remind me not to post after working a 13+hour work day after a hard ride that morning and getting only 5 hours of sleep!!

Just realized I posted that. I get speed from the GPS but I get cadence from my power tap.

lol! I do not function on a lack of sleep apparently :eek:

Maye
05-13-2012, 01:29 PM
I have great ideas, sometimes! :D

Zoom!! Thanks for the idea!! So, I got the Edge 500 today from my hubby/daughter. Mothers day present!! Keep the miles coming :D

zoom-zoom
05-13-2012, 02:04 PM
Zoom!! Thanks for the idea!! So, I got the Edge 500 today from my hubby/daughter. Mothers day present!! Keep the miles coming :D

What a cool gift! I assume this is what I am getting, too, but someone waited too long to order it, so I don't have it yet. He's totally in the doghouse for so many reasons, this Mother's Day. :rolleyes:

Maye
05-13-2012, 05:05 PM
What a cool gift! I assume this is what I am getting, too, but someone waited too long to order it, so I don't have it yet. He's totally in the doghouse for so many reasons, this Mother's Day. :rolleyes:


Men!! In the doghouse it shall remain ;)

azfiddle
07-16-2012, 08:29 PM
I think this thread already answered my question but...

I have a 2 1/2 year old Garmin 305, w/ HRM and cadence sensor. However, the battery is rapidly losing its ability to hold a charge. So to confirm- if I get the Edge 500 w/o new accessories, I could use the old 305 accessories, right?

As far as I can tell, the battery in the 305 is not intended to be replaceable (although there does seem to be a way to do it if you're more electronically talented than I am). I would be happy to find a way to extend the life of the 305 rather than spend the $$ for a new device.

Any thoughts on this?

zoom-zoom
07-16-2012, 08:45 PM
AZ, how have you charged your 305 over the course of its life? Lithium Ions do best if they are kept fully charged as much as possible. I've never had battery issues with my 305s (first one simply started to fall apart at the seams when it was about 3.5...replacement is kind of a POS).

Cadence sensor works perfectly...not sure about the HRM. I've never actually used the HRM with the 305 (I should sell my unused HRMs on eBay).