PDA

View Full Version : Rain??? Ugh!

AZchick
11-07-2011, 03:04 PM
Ok, I've been cycling for 8 months here in sunny AZ. This weekend is my very first big charity ride and it's supposed to rain! I have a bike that cost a bit of cash, plus I've never ridden in rain... never had to.
Is it bad for my Specialized bike? My shoes? Cleats?
What do I wear?
Are there tips to be safe riding in rain?

Biciclista
11-07-2011, 03:06 PM
the rain won't hurt your bike. if it gets really dirty, wash it off after the ride with gently running water and a soft rag (and clean green if necessary)
your shoes and cleats will dry. dress a little warmer than you normally do, but unless it's really cold, the rain won't bother you (unless it comes down in torrents)
slow down on curves and turns. give yourself more time to stop...

ny biker
11-07-2011, 03:10 PM
For safety, keep in mind that painted lines on the road and metal things like grates and manhole covers are slippery in the rain.

Probably the biggest problem I have is when the rain gets in my eyes. I find it helps to have a visor on the helmet or wear a cycling cap under it. And I keep my sunglasses on, usually switching to lighter lenses.

For wet shoes, stuff something like newspaper or paper towels into them to help them dry faster after the ride.

If possible, put fenders on your bike.

Owlie
11-07-2011, 03:23 PM
Riding in rain is a fact of life for the rest of us. Though those of us who don't live in Seattle will try to avoid it. ;) How much is it supposed to rain?

No, it won't hurt your bike. Clean your drivetrain and brakes when you get home, though. Your clothes and shoes will dry. I'd say leave them out in the sun for a bit, but I don't deal with the beasties that you have to! If you don't have fenders, you may end up with dirt/mud on your back from that "rooster tail" if it's heavy rain. It'll wash out.