PDA

View Full Version : Favorite video for the trainer

Catrin
10-24-2011, 03:17 AM
I've been debating winter cycling shoes vs indoor trainer for a couple of months now; both are expensive and I promised myself that this year I would only get one. After debating and being honest with myself I made my decision and now have a Kurt Kinetic Road Machine. Not the cheapest, far from the most expensive. I took my bike to my LBS and tested out all of the fluid trainers they offer and made my choice. Perhaps next year I will get the shoes, or not. This year I will stick with my toe covers and chemical warmers until I come inside for the winter.

The trainer came with a Spinnervals DVD, several LBS staff warned me to not judge Spinnerval offerings by that particular DVD as it is pretty bad. I also picked up a "scenic" DVD where you are riding the road in southern Indiana and northern Kentucky. These are places in driving distance from me so it is possible I could find myself riding the same places someday :)

I've noted they have a mountain bike DVD, has anyone used that, is it worth the $25? I won't know until I start using the trainer regularly if I will prefer instructional classroom DVDs over scenic, but would appreciate recommendations. They aren't very expensive but with a tight budget I don't want to waste my money.

Becky
10-24-2011, 04:31 AM
Your LBS is right- the later Spinervals options are of much higher production quality than the early ones. I like Hillacious and Time Saver I. I've also heard lots of good things about The Sufferfest downloads.

Veronica
10-24-2011, 06:29 AM
Both Selkie and I have reviewed several of the Spinervals videos. You can do an advanced search using either of names and searching on Spinervals.

Veronica

Catrin
10-24-2011, 06:50 AM
Both Selkie and I have reviewed several of the Spinervals videos. You can do an advanced search using either of names and searching on Spinervals.

Veronica

Sweet, thanks!

gnat23
10-24-2011, 08:43 AM