PDA

View Full Version : Hook em Horns - Inaugural Texas Hill Country Ride for the UT Cycling team

Technotart
11-15-2005, 02:56 AM
The First Annual Sweatin Burnt Orange Bike Tour - Nov 19th, 2005

I am SO impressed with the UT (University of Texas) cycling club - I just have to brag!

45 days ago they decided to put on a fund raising ride for the club. Yes - that's right - one and a half months. Mind you - none of them have ever done anything like this...ever. They were told by a number of experts and those who might be able to help that it was impossible to plan, lay out, route, enlist enough help, get local officials on board and generate publicity in that amount of time. I am no expert, but even when I heard about the plan I admit I held little hope for a fund generating outcome. They went ahead anyway.

A date was chosen for mid-November, historically cold and bleak in Texas, or at least wet. The weather might be impossible. They did it anyway.

T-shirts were ordered, as it turned out from a non- university approved vendor, with non-university approved logos on the back - orders were canceled and re-routed and changed - it seemed the shirts might be out of reach. They managed to get them anyway. (They get very little support - as is the case with so called recreational clubs - from the University itself)

Locals were not so receptive to the idea of allowing porta-potties and rest stops to be set up on their property - since DOT says that you can't put them on the easment. Guess what? The team got it done anyway!

There were no prizes to raffle, no gatorade, no cookies or bananas to feed riders at rest stops and these guys got it handled and organized and distributed, The Sheriff didn't show up, It drizzled and spit and even rained in San Antonio on Sunday morning where a good number of riders would be coming from. There were about 75 riders pre-registered, 60 of them registering in the last week.