PDA

View Full Version : Another clipless ?

VeganBikeChick
08-04-2011, 05:05 PM
So I went to my LBS today...I've been slacking on the bike, due to hills frustrating me, so thinking if I go clipless I'll have that additional power and will be able to fight back at the hills with at least something ;)

Anyway...was talking to the guy at the LBS about SPDs vs Candies vs Speedplay Frogs. Mentioned I was a newbie, super klutz, and need to be able to quickly unclip in traffic.

He strongly steered me towards Shimanos, rationale being that because you can adjust the tension, the loosest tension on SPDs is more than on the Crank Bros, which are nonadjustable and thus a little tighter in tension.

Obviously, I'll need to try them out for myself before making a final decision, but anyone else strongly Team Crank or Team Shimano?

zoom-zoom
08-04-2011, 05:08 PM
Loosest tension on Shimano SPDs is really nice and loose...and seems to loosen with time. I have new Shimano SPD-SLs (the road pedals) -- those are NOT loose. I had a near oh-$hit moment during my first road pedals ride, yesterday. They seem to be loosening up a bit with use, though. Phew! :p

Eden
08-04-2011, 06:06 PM
I think I'd steer you more toward the frogs - I haven't used them, but I understand from others that they are passive release - they don't take much force to get out, but are still secure when clipped in. I'd really hesitate to encourage anyone to set their release tension very loose on adjustable pedals... *if* you clip out when you do not intend to, the results can be pretty disastrous.....

(my husband had a pair of faulty pedals - he accidentally unclipped both feet when he stood to sprint through an intersection.... it was not pretty to see him go flying... fortunately he was OK)

zoom-zoom
08-04-2011, 06:36 PM
Did you get the cleats with the 6 degrees of float? They are available either way. Definitely prefer the float.