PDA

View Full Version : Computer Experts - advice requested

tulip
08-01-2011, 10:00 AM
Strange place to seek computer advice, but I'm nearly clueless when it comes to computers. I think some of you are pros at this stuff.

My laptop battery won't hold a charge, and it's time for a new one (battery, that is, not laptop). Any advice on the type and where to get one?

I have a Dell Latitude D830 that I purchased in 2007. It's been fantastic and I've had no issues up until now. Should I just get a replacement battery from Dell, or are there trade secrets that I should know? Should I take it to a local computer person? I would like to have a little bit of knowledge before I talk to someone about it.

I do not have an IT person at my disposal; if I did, I would ask him or her.

Thanks,
tulip

ny biker
08-01-2011, 11:19 AM
I'm not an expert -- I never use my laptop battery, since my laptop rarely leaves my living room -- but it looks like the battery you need is available at Amazon, and the price is probably good.

Biciclista
08-01-2011, 01:23 PM
try dell's website. or google the name of the computer and look for the accessories.

ultraviolet
08-01-2011, 01:44 PM
I have an off-brand replacement battery for a five (or six?) year old Dell laptop that has worked just fine for me for the past two years. I think I picked it up from either Amazon or NewEgg.

You would be fine with either ordering a replacement from Dell, or going with a replacement from other sources. Usually, you'll pay more to get one from the manufacturer, but some people find a little peace of mind from that. Doing a search on your model name/number should turn up numerous sources for price comparisons.

tulip
08-01-2011, 02:00 PM
Thanks everyone. I had not thought of Amazon. I am not an online shopper, obviously!

I looked at Dell, and that's probably where I'll end up, but I wanted to get some info from folks who know more than I do (and who aren't interested in selling me a battery).

Thanks again.