PDA

View Full Version : new kid with lots of questions!

Barb
04-17-2003, 07:21 AM
I just started riding this month. I don't even have shorts yet. Of course, now I am a little sore so I'll use the time off my bike to find some good shorts!!! Here are my questions.

I am riding about 10 miles flat or 6 miles hilly about 4 times a week. I haven't yet done anything longer. How fast should I be riding? I average about 10 mph now with no sweat.

I am trying to get ready for a 25 mile ride three weeks from now. Will I embarrass myself if I do it in 2 hours?:confused:

aka_kim
04-17-2003, 11:15 AM
Organized rides usually have volunteers positioned at the finish line to jeer and laugh at late finishing riders. JUST KIDDING!!

No one cares how fast or slow you are except you (and maybe competitive friends). Don't ever worry about embarrassing yourself on a ride.

It sounds like you'll do fine if you're already doing 40 miles a week without difficulty. You could probably do 25 miles right now, so in 3 weeks you should cruise through the ride. You'll find too, if there are other riders and a rest stop or two, that you can do a lot more miles than you think.

But you do need to get those bike shorts first.

Kim

MightyMitre
04-17-2003, 12:44 PM
Hi Barb - and welcome.

Sounds like you 've been doing pretty well so far. You'll probably find when you do the 25 , if you're with loads of other people the miles just disappear. I went out with a friend I haven't seen since for about 8 months and the ride turned into a major gossip and catch up session. Before we knew it we'd clocked up 20 miles without even noticing!

But get some shorts - it'll make all the difference. Short are to cycling as trainers are to running and in my experience you get what you pay for. Also, when you're looking you might notice they often tell you how many panels the short have and the more panels the better.