PDA

View Full Version : OT -- attn SF Bay Area members

BikeMomma
10-23-2005, 08:39 PM
This website page may be interesting to you. http://quake.usgs.gov/research/3Dgeologic/

I'm an earthquake geek. Any stories to tell about the Loma Prieta quake? I'm interested to hear them, your personal experiences, etc. Northridge quake stories welcome, as well, for those of you SoCal members.

The world geological events since the Indonesia quake last December have been intriguing me constantly. Awesome stuff.

-BikeMomma

aka_kim
10-25-2005, 09:58 AM
BM (oops! I mean BikeMomma!) - thanks for the link, it is interesting stuff. I think I'll use the shaking hazards/intensity info to try to convince my manager why it's just too dangerous to go visit clients in SF! (I'm only half joking - the thought of being on BART or in the city, lugging around 20 pounds of laptop and assorted cr*p, when the Big One hits... shudder.)

I'm a lifelong CA resident, but I've only experienced one of the bigger quakes (Sylmar in '71). The scariest for me was Sierra Madre in '91, which was only 5 point something but the epicenter was only a few miles from where I lived. I was in the shower, without my contacts in, getting thrown against the sides of the stall. Being naked and blind in an emergency isn't fun.

SadieKate
10-25-2005, 10:12 AM
Kim, where were you in Sylmar '71? I was in Oxnard getting thrown off the top bunk bed to provide a safe landing pad for the books flying off the bookshelves. Discovered that there is a downside to being a reader.

Trek420
10-25-2005, 10:54 AM
can we merge this map with the one of TE members? ;)

Trek-livin'-on-the-faultline-420

bikerz
10-25-2005, 12:19 PM
I'm trying not to let this stuff freak me out too much! The last two teeny weeny quakes on the Hayward fault (3.something and 4.something) were within 2 miles of my house...