PDA

View Full Version : What to wear???

KTeach
04-12-2003, 05:49 PM
This may seem like a no brainer to experienced riders but I'm relatively new to biking and have a hard time figuring out what to wear under different weather conditions! I'm either too cold or overdressed. I've been doing short rides during the week and they're no problem. But when I do a 50-60 mile ride on the weekend I'm always confused about what to wear. I ride in the NYC area, in Spring it can be 35-40 degrees when I leave in the am and get up to the 60's after lunch... It's also shady in the city, windy on the GW Bridge, and then usually warmer when we get into suburbia... Thanks in advance for your input!

Veronica
04-12-2003, 05:59 PM
I wear a merino wool jersey unless it's in the seventies or above. I have wool arm warmers - old hiking socks with the toes cut out. The wool breathes better than most performance fabrics. Arm warmers allow me to adjust as conditioners change.

Veronica

goddess1222
04-12-2003, 07:30 PM
for me, it's all in layering(this i learned from a friend who lived in denver). i put on a long sleeve Dri-Fit, then my short sleeve jersey. if i get hot, i take the dri- fit off and wrap it around my handlebars. try to wear stuff that is light that you can peel off.

if it's really cold, i will wear my windproof jacket.

i think the idea of arm warmers is a great one.

pedalfaster
04-13-2003, 05:40 AM
Things I Can't Live Without for Spring Rides:

Arm Warmers
Knee Warmers
Defeet sleevless Un-d-shirt(under a regular jersey)
Wind Vest (the wind jackets with zip-off sleeves are great for colder weather).
Smart Wool socks.

If it's really nippy in the morning, I'll also add an earband, "magic gloves" (those .99 cent things you get at the discount store...just pull 'em on over your regular cycling gloves) and plastic baggies over the toes of my socks(inside the shoes...just toss them when it warms up).

MightyMitre
04-14-2003, 04:59 AM