PDA

View Full Version : Help with winter training...

abejita
12-05-2010, 11:06 AM
Ok ladies, I am on a mission this winter. I want to get fast and strong enough to leave my hubby's friend in the dust next summer!!

He is a really nice guy, in his 50's or so, but he thinks cause I am a girl I can't do anything. He is always surprised when I do anything mechanically inclined (I have a master's degree in mechanical engineering for goodness sake!) Surprised when I go 50 or 60 miles, which I do regularly in the summer with great ease, surprised when I finished my first century this past summer. He wants us to go ride this really hilly route with him because he wants to see my face on the steep downhills (like I am going to get so scared and walk down it instead).

I am anal retentive and I like to have goals, so that is my winter training goal...to easily keep up with him cause I know it will drive him nuts...and I want to do my next Hotter'n Hell in under 6 hours. I can ride long, but not super fast and I suck on the hills.

I need help with a training routine (cause again, I am anal retentive and I like to have a plan!) Anyone have a routine they want to share with me? I have a trainer and should be able to to outdoor rides once or twice a week, with a longish one on the weekend. I need something that spells out what I need to do, like intervals on mondays, hills on wednesday, etc...

Thanks!

ibike2
12-05-2010, 11:22 AM
Chris Carmichael has a book called: "The Time Crunched Cyclist"

He has written the book for cyclist who have 6 hours to train a week. He also has listed the training routines. If you have a chance, check out the book at the local book store and see if it would be helpful.

Good luck!

chicagogal
12-05-2010, 12:04 PM
Ok ladies, I am on a mission this winter. I want to get fast and strong enough to leave my hubby's friend in the dust next summer!!