PDA

View Full Version : Affordable Carbon Bike?

KatieBelle
09-11-2005, 07:06 AM
Does anyone know if there is an affordable "all carbon" bike? The Trek Pilot 5.0 looks good, but is there anything under $2000?

Being a newbie, I don't know whether all carbon is even the way to go. Would the ride still be smooth with just a carbon fork and carbon seat post, like the Trek Pilot 2.1?

Trekhawk
09-11-2005, 10:09 AM
Does anyone know if there is an affordable "all carbon" bike? The Trek Pilot 5.0 looks good, but is there anything under $2000?

Being a newbie, I don't know whether all carbon is even the way to go. Would the ride still be smooth with just a carbon fork and carbon seat post, like the Trek Pilot 2.1?

Hi Katie - I have a Trek 5000 and paid 1800 for it. I think it is normally around 2200 but got it cheaper as they are getting all the new models in and clearing out the older ones. Cant say if the ride would be as smooth with just a carbon fork as this is the only bike I have ridden for any amount of time.

Good luck on your bike hunt.
:)

Kimred
09-11-2005, 06:30 PM
I have a Klein Q Carbon Team. I paid about 1800.00 for it 2 years ago and that was a deal, it retailed about 2300.00. I adore this bike. It has a Carbon fork and seatstay. It rides beautifully and has great pep going up hills.
It's rides much better than a all aluminion bike, it's not stiff.
All Carbon Bikes have come down in price since then it would be great if you can test them both. That's truly the best way to decide what you want.

Good Luck and have fun shopping!!
Kim :)

sarahk
09-12-2005, 10:56 AM
Hi,

I purchased a Giant TCR Limited this year. I think they go for around $1900. They do have a series of TCR bikes, I think the cheapest ones go for $1650. I love my bike!!

Sarah

Carm
09-12-2005, 04:28 PM
Does Would the ride still be smooth with just a carbon fork and carbon seat post, like the Trek Pilot 2.1?

Hi Katie,