PDA

View Full Version : Knee pain--due to fall or overuse?

yellowrose93
07-19-2010, 04:53 AM
I am still new to cycling and am not sure if my knee pain is because of overuse or injury. I rode 30 miles on Saturday--10 to get breakfast and then 20 back home. (We took the scenic route). On the way home I had a minor fall. I unclipped one foot at a stop light, but then leaned the wrong way and fell. I hit my elbow and knee. They are scraped but nothing major. Got up, finished the ride. Then on Sunday we did a similar ride. 10 miles to breakfast and 17 back home. Now the back of my knee is hurting a lot. It hurts mostly to bend it. I'm just not sure if it's hurting because I rode 2 days in a row or because I fell. I had lateral release surgery on both knees 6 years ago, but cycling is one thing that usually doesn't bother my knees too much. (except for big hills and standing to pedal). Any thoughts? Do I let it be for awhile or see a doctor? I've been taking Motrin and it isn't doing anything for the pain. It was really hard to sleep last night--just couldn't get comfortable. Thanks!!

yellowrose93
07-19-2010, 05:40 AM
I actually haven't had the bike fitted professionally. We got the bike from Craigslist and just got a new seat for it. The original owner had put a gel seat from Wal-Mart on it, so we got a Bontrager this weekend. Also getting a shorter stem. (I have a 56cm bike because of my long legs, but need a shorter stem for my arms). My hands and wrists hurt a little while riding, but are ok now. I think I put too much weight on my hands sometimes, but it is something I try to be aware of while riding.

Anyway, I think I need to go in to the bike place where my husband got his bike to get fitted. I might also call the doctor just in case. Thank you!!

bmccasland
07-19-2010, 09:12 AM
My doctor sent me to my LBS shop for a proper fitting when I had a numb hand after a ride. Can't say enough about getting a proper fitting!