PDA

View Full Version : Women's opinion please!!

VeloMel
04-04-2010, 05:54 PM
This is my second year road cycling. The season just started and I hadn't been out since Oct. Of last year. My fiancee had me go on a 30 mile ride with him my 3rd day out, it took us 2 hours. I'd say I "bonked" twards the end. Is he trying to kill me? I just don't know if that is going to "hurt" me going all out like that so early in the season.

BleeckerSt_Girl
04-04-2010, 06:42 PM
I just started riding after a whole winter off and I'm not in great shape now because of it.
So far I've done.... 10 miles and 16 miles. By mid season I can do 50 mile rides or more with no great problem, but it takes a month or two to work my way up to that comfortably.

If I feel a ride is too long for me for whatever reason, I just say so and I do a shorter one.

MartianDestiny
04-04-2010, 07:38 PM
Completely depends on how experienced of a cyclist you are, where you were at the end of last season, what you did over the winter, and how "hard" the 30 miles are.

I stopped riding at the beginning of October (maybe even before then) last year (school, new dog, weather, etc). Did nothing (except attempt to train a dog) as far as exercise all winter. Got on my bike last month and just went. Yea, it hurt. Yea, I got dropped (by racers who had trained all winter...). But, yes, I finished 30 miles without falling over, bonking, or dying. Two weeks (give or take) of solid riding and gym time and I'm getting just about back where I was last year, at least as far as endurance.