PDA

View Full Version : Looking to start really "Mountaining" :)

doctorfrau
08-17-2005, 06:42 AM
I've been on my bikes now for over two years. Started out with a used Schwinn MTB that I picked up 'cause I had no idea what I needed and just wanted to get back on a bike. It's big and heavy. Over a year ago I graduated to a Specialized Sequoia roadie - which I love. I just ordered shoes and clipless pedals for it. I still use the MTB when the rail trail is soft in bad weather, etc. and I used it earlier this summer to "commute" from the car repair shop because the road shoulders where I live were too rough for the roadie. I'm thinking of putting slicks and a "trunk" on that one and making it a commuter/shopper.

So now, though I still enjoy them, I'm getting a little bored with just the rail-trails and am wondering about starting something resembling actual "mountain" biking.

Any suggestions about hardtail vs full-suspension, etc? Price range for me tops out at about $1400. I want Disc brakes, 'cause the existing one has V-brakes and they stink in the wet, and I know where I would be going is going to be wet and sloppy most of the year.
Beyond that, I'm not sure how much bike I need. I won't be racing, but I don't want to have to upgrade right away either!(I've already bought 2 bikes in 2 years) I can't believe I am even considering a third bike - a few years ago when you ladies all talked about having a "stable" I thought you were crazy! :D Now I'm starting to "get it" :D

Irulan
08-18-2005, 07:50 AM
basic thoughts;
1 in your price range, you will get a much nicer, lighter, well componented bike as a hard tail over a full suspension.

2. Fit, fit, fit, fit fit. as you know I'm not a big fan of WSD but go with what fits you well.

I'd look at Konas and Giants, first but that's my preference.

irulan

SalsaMTB
08-23-2005, 01:24 PM
I agree with Irulan.