PDA

View Full Version : Long vs. short

kjay
03-03-2003, 07:28 PM
I've been biking for about four years now and have never worn shorts, nor will I ever wear shorts. I'd really appreciate hearing about any lightweight, long cycling tights that would work in warm/hot weather. I know this is silly, but I am really self-conscious about my legs. There must be something available that is good for warm weather? I'll probably get over this silliness some day, but for now I must deal with it however I can. Thanks in advance!

lb satterly
03-03-2003, 08:10 PM
No, its not silly, its where you are at and that's ok.How about knickers or skorts or relaxed fit shorts with bike shorts undereath. Terry makes all of these and I suspect other companies do too... I swore I'd never wear cycling shorts when I first started riding and now they are practically part of my identity. I like the way it feels to ride without my legs covered when temperature allows. My legs, varicosities and all, are beautiful to me because of what they can do. And believe me, by the beauty industry's standard, they would definately be a Glamour Don't. Their so called imperfections are battle scars from a life fully lived and a body well used.

goddess1222
03-04-2003, 09:11 AM
hey lb satterly, very well said. BRAVO.!!!!

lb satterly
03-05-2003, 06:21 PM
Thanks, godess1222.

MightyMitre
03-11-2003, 08:25 AM
yes - well said lb satterly

Kjay - ever seen balding ,overweight, sweaty, 50 year old men in all-in-one lycra skin suites standing round in groups at the end of a race ( or is this just in England!!! :D) )

I thought I'd feel self conscious wearing shorts, especially as cycling is such a male dominated sport here in the UK. But standing next to blokes like the ones above, can't fail to make even the most out of shape/self-conscious women feel like a total goddess.